Director voting leads to 2018 DREMC Membership Meeting

Director voting leads to 2018 DREMC Membership Meeting

DREMC Director voting for Zone 5 including Marshall and Giles counties will begin Monday, August 13, in the contested election for a seat vacated with the retirement of Kenneth Stacey, who has served on the DREMC board for 15 years.

The DREMC Nominating Committee has named two candidates to fill the vacated seat of Mr. Stacey: Lyn Stacey and Will Wilson. Only co-op members residing in these counties may cast ballots.

Three sitting directors were unopposed in this election cycle. They include Brent Willis, Zone 1 (Coffee and Warren counties); Nelson Crouch, Zone 2 (Franklin, Grundy and Marion counties) and Wayne Tucker, Zone 4 (Bedford and Rutherford counties).

Consumer members are encouraged to cast their ballots at the voting machines located in the lobbies of the Lewisburg and Chapel Hill offices beginning Monday, August 13. Hours of voting are: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 8 a.m. – 6 p.m.; Thursday 8 a.m. – 8 p. m.; Friday, 6 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Election results will be announced Saturday, August 18 during the 2018 Duck River EMC Annual Membership Meeting at the Manchester Coffee County Conference Center. Registration starts at 8:30 a.m. with the business session scheduled for 9:30 a.m.

The first 300 co-op members to register will receive special attendance prizes. DREMC employees will be on hand to assist with energy efficiency questions and any other questions related to the cooperative.   This year’s grand prize is a portable generator.

“One of the seven cooperative principles is democratic member control. It is important for our consumer members to actively participate in the cooperative, and by attending the annual meeting they will be informed of the financial condition of the cooperative, hear project reports and learn of plans for the coming year,” said DREMC President and CEO Michael Watson.